2 years ago

Top-flight academies confirmed for EFL Trophy

Written by
Barnsley beat Oxford United at Wembley in the Football League Trophy final last season

The format of the 2016-17 EFL Trophy, which will include 16 Premier League academy sides, has been confirmed.

Clubs from both League One and League Two will play alongside the Category One academies, starting with a group format before a Wembley final in April.

The 16 groups of four teams will each comprise an academy side with the top two from each qualifying for the first knockout round of 32 teams.

The group stage draw will be announced by the EFL in due course.

Known last season as the Football League Trophy and sponsored by Johnstone’s Paint, the competition has been rebranded for this season along with the Football League as a whole.

Barnsley beat League Two Oxford United 3-2 at Wembley in front of a crowd of more than 59,000 in last season’s final.

The 16 Category One Academies taking part in the EFL Trophy in 2016-17:

  • Arsenal
  • Chelsea
  • Everton
  • Leicester City
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester City
  • Manchester United
  • Middlesbrough
  • Newcastle United
  • Southampton
  • Stoke City
  • Sunderland
  • Swansea City
  • Tottenham Hotspur
  • West Bromwich Albion
  • West Ham United

Source: BBC Football Read Original Article: Top-flight academies confirmed for EFL Trophy

Free Bet Club - £5 Free EVERY week

Get a £5 free bet every single week when you join the Free Bet Club at Skybet.

Article Categories:
Football · Uncategorized
Profile photo of admin

A bit like Charlie from Charlie's Angles, the ubiquitous WLB Admin guys are the all-seeing eyes of the site, making sure the web monkeys keep the site running.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Menu Title